NIGMS Funds 37 Institutional Development Awards in Fiscal Year 2014

Announcement Date:

The National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) made 37 new and competing Institutional Development Awards (IDeA) in 18 states during Fiscal Year 2014. These grants are expected to total approximately $417.3 million over the next 5 years.

The IDeA program builds research capacities in states that historically have had low levels of NIH funding by supporting basic, clinical and translational research; faculty development; and infrastructure improvements.

The program's two main components are Centers of Biomedical Research Excellence (COBRE) and Institutional Development Award Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence (INBRE). COBREs are thematic, multidisciplinary research centers that develop faculty and institutional research capabilities. INBREs enhance research capacity, strengthen the research capabilities of faculty and provide students with access to biomedical resources.

The grants made during the last fiscal year will support 25 COBREs and 12 INBREs. The institutions and principal investigators that received these awards in Fiscal Year 2014 are:


Alfred I. du Pont Hospital for Children (Delaware) – Marie Stuart, P20GM109021

Boise State University (Idaho) – Julia Oxford, P20GM109095

Boys Town National Research Hospital (Nebraska) – Walt Jesteadt, P20GM109023

Medical University of South Carolina – Steven Kautz, P20GM109040

Montana State University-Bozeman – Allen Harmsen, P20GM104417

University of Delaware – Joseph Fox, P20GM104316

University of Nebraska-Lincoln – Janos Zempleni, P20GM104320

University of Nebraska-Omaha – Nicholas Stergiou, P20GM109090

University of South Carolina – Igor Roninson, P20GM109091

West Virginia University – James Simpkins, P20GM109098


Clemson University (South Carolina) – Naren Vyavahare, P20GM103444

University of Hawaii at Manoa – William Ward, P20GM103457


Louisiana State University – Konstantin Kousoulas, P30GM110760

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center New Orleans – Daniel Kapusta, P30GM106392

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center Shreveport – Dennis O'Callaghan, P30GM110703

Montana State University-Bozeman – Mark Quinn, P30GM110732

Oklahoma Medical Research Foundation – Patrick Gaffney, P30GM110766

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences – Edgar Garcia-Rill, P30GM110702

University of Delaware – Thomas Beebe Jr., P30GM110758

University of Kansas, Lawrence – Robert Hanzlik, P30GM110761

University of Kentucky – Jeffrey Ebersole, P30GM110788

University of Kentucky – Louis Hersh, P30GM110787

University of Nebraska Medical Center – Shelley Smith, P30GM110768

University of Nevada, Reno – Kenton Sanders, P30GM110767

University of New Mexico – Eric Samuel Loker, P30GM110907


Marshall University (West Virginia) – Gary Rankin, P20GM103434

Montana State University-Bozeman – Allen Harmsen, P20GM103474

Mount Desert Island Biological Laboratory (Maine) – Patricia Hand, P20GM103423

University of Alaska Fairbanks – Cheryl Anne Frye, P20GM103395

University of Delaware – Steven Stanhope, P20GM103446

University of Idaho – Carolyn Hovde Bohach, P20GM103408

University of Kansas – Douglas Wright, P20GM103418

University of Louisville (Kentucky) – Nigel Cooper, P20GM103436

New Mexico State University – Jeffrey Arterburn, P20GM103451

University of North Dakota – Donald Sens, P20GM103442

University of Oklahoma – Darrin Akins, P20GM103447

University of Rhode Island – Zahir Shaikh, P20GM110490

For more information about the IDeA program, see


To arrange an interview with an IDeA spokesperson, contact the NIGMS Office of Communications and Public Liaison at 301-496-7301 or through our contact form.​