May 2021 Council Roster


Jon R. Lorsch, Ph.D.
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892


Darrin Akins, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Cancer Education
and Training
Stephenson Cancer Center
Department of Microbiology and Immunology
University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center
Oklahoma City, OK 73104

Celeste Berg, Ph.D.
Department of Genome Sciences
Co-Director, Molecular and Cellular
Biology Program
University of Washington
Seattle, WA 98195

Squire J. Booker, Ph.D.
Evan Pugh Professor of Chemistry
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Eberly Family Distinguished Chair in Science
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA 16802

Enrique M. De La Cruz, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Molecular Biophysics
and Biochemistry
Head of Branford College
Yale University
New Haven, CT 06520

Peter J. Espenshade, Ph.D.
Department of Cell Biology
Associate Dean for Graduate Biomedical Education
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD 21205 

Laura F. Gibson, Ph.D.
Senior Associate Vice President for Research & Graduate Education
Associate Dean for Research, School of Medicine
Alexander B. Osborn Distinguished Professor
Hematological Malignancies
West Virginia University
Morgantown, WV 26506

Danielle Li, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
MIT Sloan School of Management
Cambridge, MA 02142

Guy Padbury, Ph.D.
Chief Development Officer
Scorpion Therapeutics
Boston, MA 02110

Amy Rosenzweig, Ph.D.
Weinberg Family Distinguished Professor
of Life Sciences
Departments of Molecular Biosciences
and of Chemistry
Northwestern University
Evanston, IL 60208

Melanie Sanford, Ph.D.
Moses Gomberg Distinguished University
Professor of Chemistry
Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Chemistry
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109

Pamela Stacks, Ph.D. 
Special Advisor to the Vice President for Research and Innovation
Division of Research and Innovation
Professor of Chemistry, retired
San Jose State University
San Jose, CA 95192

Cathy Wu, Ph.D.
Unidel Edward G. Jefferson Chair in Engineering
and Computer Science
Director, Data Science Institute
Departments of Computer and Information
Sciences and Biological Sciences
University of Delaware
Newark, DE 19711

John Younger, M.D.
Managing Partner
Argo Pond, LLC
Cynwyd, PA 19004

Ad Hoc Participants

Anthony Fehr, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Molecular Biosciences
The University of Kansas
Lawrence, KS 66045

Keolu Fox, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Anthropology
Emmerson Collective Fellow
Indigenous Futures Institute
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA 920935

Jani Ingram, Ph.D.
Departments of Chemistry and Biochemistry
Director, Bridges to the Baccalaureate Program
Northern Arizona University
Flagstaff, AZ 86011

Natividad (Natacha) Ruiz, Ph.D.
Department of Microbiology
The Ohio State University
Columbus, OH 43210   

Executive Secretary

Erica Brown, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Extramural Activities
National Institute of General Medical Sciences
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892

Ex-Officio Members

Xavier Becerra *
The U.S. Department of Health Human Services
Washington, DC 20201

Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D. *
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-0148

Ronald M. Przygodzki, M.D. 
Genomic Medicine
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs
Veterans Health Administration
Washington, DC 20420

* Unable to attend