Grant Supplements Recognize Excellence in Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility Mentorship

Announcement Date:

NIGMS Communications and Public Liaison Branch,

Seventeen National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) grants received supplements through a new NIH program that recognizes principal investigators for outstanding mentoring and contributions to enhancing diversity, equity, inclusion, and accessibility (DEIA) in the biomedical sciences. The supplements are part of an NIH program supported by the Chief Officer for Scientific Workforce Diversity (COSWD) to recognize the crucial role of effective mentorship in developing scientific leaders and a diverse biomedical and behavioral research workforce.

The NIGMS supplements for 2022 are expected to total more than $3.7 million. Award recipients are listed below.

Supplements to Recognize Excellence in DEIA Mentorship

Moriah R. Beck – Wichita State University, R15GM140422-01A1S2

Carrie A. Cameron – University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, U01GM132219-04S1

Frederic Louis Chedin – University of California, Davis, T32GM007377-44S1

Margarita L. Dubocovich – State University of New York at Buffalo, T32GM144920-01S1

Raymond M. Esquerra – San Francisco State University, T34GM145400-01S1

Aldrin V. Gomes – University of California, Davis, T32GM135741-03S1

Sarah C. Hokanson – Boston University, Charles River Campus, R25GM121257-05S1

Michael David Leslie Johnson – University of Arizona, R35GM128653-05S2

Lisa K. Marriott – Oregon Health & Science University, R25GM129840-05S1

Todd Nystul – University of California San Francisco, R35GM136348-03S3

Elizabeth Parker – University of Maryland, Baltimore, R25GM129875-05S1

James Benjamin Skeath – Washington University in St. Louis, T34GM141639-02S1

Billy R. Thomas – University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, R25GM083247-12S1

Halaevalu Vakalahi – Hawaii Pacific University, U01GM138435-03S1

Roxanne A. Vaughan – University of North Dakota, P20GM104360-09S1

Anna Woodcock – California State University San Marcos, U01GM138437-03S1

Charles G. Wray – Jackson Laboratory, R25GM142036-02S1

For information about NIH’s 2023 DEIA mentorship supplements, including the application deadline and details for an upcoming webinar on December 12, see the recent COSWD blog post​​.