NIGMS Funds 27 Institutional Development Awards in Fiscal Year 2017

Announcement Date:

The National Institute of General Medical Sciences (NIGMS) funded 27 Institutional Development Award (IDeA) grants in fiscal year 2017. These grants are expected to total approximately $61.5 million over the next five years. The grants were issued to 25 institutions in 16 states across the nation.

IDeA builds research capacities in states that historically have had low levels of NIH funding by supporting basic, clinical, and translational research; faculty development; and infrastructure improvements. The program also enhances the ability of investigators to compete successfully for additional research funding and serves the research needs of medically underserved communities.

The IDeA program includes:

Below is information about the fiscal year 2017 IDeA grants. For more details about an award, search NIH RePORTER by the project number.


Arkansas Children’s Hospital Research Institute -- Alan Tackett, P20GM121293

Kansas State University -- Kimberly Kirkpatrick, P20GM113109

Laureate Institute for Brain Research (Oklahoma) -- Martin P. Paulus, P20GM121312

Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center -- Krzysztof Reiss, P20GM121288

Maine Medical Center -- Lucy Liaw, P20GM121301

Sanford Research (South Dakota) -- Amy J. Elliott, P20GM121341

University of Hawaii at Manoa -- Mariana Gerschenson, P20GM113134

University of Kentucky -- Binhua P. Zhou, P20GM121327

University of Mississippi Medical Center -- Jane F. Reckelhoff, P20GM121334

University of New Hampshire -- Rick H. Cote, P20GM113131

University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center -- Vojo P. Deretic, P20GM121176

University of Wyoming -- Qian-Quan Sun, P20GM121310

Women and Infants Hospital of Rhode Island -- Surendra Sharma, P20GM121298


Delaware State University -- Melissa A. Harrington, P20GM103653

Rhode Island Hospital -- Peter J. Quesenberry, P20GM119943

Tulane University (Louisiana) -- S. Michal Jazwinski, P20GM103629

University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences -- Mark S. Smeltzer, P20GM103625

University of Kansas, Lawrence -- Susan M. Lunte, P20GM103638

University of Nevada, Reno -- Michael A. Webster, P20GM103650

University of New England (Maine) -- Ian D. Meng, P20GM103643

University of Oklahoma, Norman -- Ann H. West, P20GM103640


Rhode Island Hospital -- Qian Chen, P30GM122732

University of Kansas Medical Center -- Dale R. Abrahamson, P30GM122731

University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center -- Jian-Xing Ma, P30GM122744


Louisiana State University Pennington Biomedical Research Center -- Donna Harrington Ryan, U54GM104940

Maine Medical Center -- Clifford J. Rosen, U54GM115516

West Virginia University -- Sally Lynn Hodder, U54GM104942

IDeA Co-Funding

The IDeA program provided 19 NIH institutes and centers with approximately $10.1 million in co-funding to support 32 new or competing renewal research (R01 and R15) grants in 18 IDeA-eligible states.


To arrange an interview with an IDeA spokesperson, contact the NIGMS Office of Communications and Public Liaison at 301-496-7301 or through our contact form​.​​​